What Must The Big XII Do?

Say it all here
Forum rules
NOTICE: Please be sure to check the CFP Message Board Rules and Regulations and the Read Me page before posting.
collegefbfan-8898
Assistant Coach
Assistant Coach

What Must The Big XII Do?

Postby collegefbfan-8898 » Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:03 pm

I have been keeping up with college football since 1998. Honestly, I have loved Big XII football. The years of Eric Crouch and Nebraska. Chris Brown running over Nebraska winning 62-36. I didn't have to look that up. That game has always stuck with me. Sproles and Roberson, Jason White, Josh Heupel, Vince Young, Rocky Calmus, Tommie Harris, and tons of others. The games, the coaches all that. The Big XII has been in the national title mix quite a few times over the BCS years. Oklahoma played in it and won... and lost. Texas has played in it and won... and lost. Still in the mix though.

So what does the Big XII need to do to make it into the CFP? And what will the Big XII actually do to make it?

Spence
Administrator
Administrator

Re: What Must The Big XII Do?

Postby Spence » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:22 am

I think they need Texas to be good again and they need to start being more multifaceted. They currently don't play defense. They tend to be a follower type of conference. They perceived that people were impressed by scoring (and the computers were really impressed with scoring) so they quit playing defense. The computers don't count anymore. Also, Oklahoma and Texas are their branded schools and like it or not, when one or both is down the conference is perceived down. Losing A&M and Mizzu (to a lesser extent) hurt them from a conference strength standpoint. Frankly, the B12 isn't very good right now. It isn't whether or not they get a conference championship game. It isn't necessary their ooc schedule. They just have to play better football.
"History doesn't always repeat itself but it often rhymes." - Mark Twain

collegefbfan-8898
Assistant Coach
Assistant Coach